Back to All Events

C A P T U R E - exhibition by KIKK festival -


  • Halles de Schaerbeek 22 Koninklijke Sinte-Mariastraat Schaarbeek, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest, 1030 Belgium (map)

KIKK invites you to discover an exhibition of 7 artists supported by KIKK festival : Alain Wergifosse, Superbe, Eva L'Hoest, Stéphanie Roland, Mathieu Zurstrassen. Including 3 artists in collaboration with invited curator Juliette Bibasse : Joanie Lemercier, Marie-Ghislaine Losseau & Yann Deval.

The exhibition shows recent projects of those artists who are all using new technologies to capture the world in their own way to create spectral, dreamlike and ethereal environments.

—FINISSAGE on Thursday 23 May 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm—

networking drinks and finissage of the exhibition

General curator: Marie du Chastel
Organized by: KIKK festival


Presentation of the artworks in the exhibition:

=Superbe - SMing, 2018=

SMing is an interactive choir installation offering people the chance to be both a conductor and an entire choir simultaneously. First,  the visitor’s voice is recorded in audio and video. The voice is analysed and software-modified to compose a full choir, from baryton to soprano. People will then lead the orchestra thanks to a connected baton. Users take the control of the choir’s rhythm and intensity and give the music a full artistic privacy. Each screen is a voice of the choir and is created from the original sound that was recorded first. The music is determined by people movements and tone of voice and is inspired by chords of musical writers. The objective is to make people experience the music in a different way, as they are immersed in their own vibration and harmony.

Can we endlessly sample and reinvent the profiles of our lives? Reinterpreting a work while being the matter and the master, the subject and the object? This question seems to echo an essential characteristic of our life, to be another for oneself is essential to the advent of our condition of creative subject. This dissociation is a prerequisite to our desire, the engine of our creative potential. The title of the work evokes this active/passive principle by the two capital letters S (sadistic position) and M (masochistic position) associated with the word "sing". To sing and to make someone sing, to « be sung ».

In this project, the individual (the undivided) confronts his fragmentary dimension (multiplied, divided) and it is this vital relationship that is questioned. Music is certainly what binds us most intimately to nature, and to its creative function. This work is an experiential metaphor of active principles at work in creation.

Website http://superbe.be/


=Alain Wergifosse - Erosions & Microscopies, 2018=


In his video installations, Alain Wergifosse uses fantasy to explore the limits of what we see and hear. A deep, immersive experience: come and explore the astonishing forms and hypnotic textures of the real and invented hidden side of nature, inspiring to the imagination. Ten slow motion microscopy videos are on show, including eight produced by KIKK with support from the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles digital arts Commission.

Site http://www.alainwergifosse.com/

181104_017_simon.fusillier (1).jpg

=Joanie Lemercier - Brume, 2017=

Brume is a series of works and installations by Joanie Lemercier, using a custom made device made of atomized water. Joanie frees his work from the screen and usual physical devices. He is using space and immateriality as a canvas, creating a mid air floating projection feeling.

Thanks to this volumetric tool, he is modifying our frontal relationship with screen and allowing new interaction between the viewer and the projected image.

Joanie Lemercier is still exploring the possibilities of this new medium with a series of experiences and chapters, questioning our view of reality.

In his work, Joanie is researching timeless subjects like light, matter, geometry. With Brume, he is also interested in the link between water and light.

https://joanielemercier.com


=Marie-Ghislaine Losseau & Yann Deval - ATLAS=

Atlas is a work between digital arts and visual arts, using real models and VR/AR headsets. Spectators are invited to build imaginary cities using a seed launcher. Each launch causes a house to grow. The growing houses follow some urbanistic rules, adapting to their environment. These cities take on a life of their own, with or without the interactions of users, just like living organisms...

Website: http://www.atlas-experience.xyz


=Eva L'Hoest - Under Automata, 2017=

The images are 3D scans of sleeping passengers recorded during a flight across the Atlantic Ocean. The camera is originally a sensor camera which comes from the video game industry, it is a motion capture device that allows the player to interact directly in the simulation without using any controller game. This tool is specifically made to record human body and is also a technology used as a biometric tool such as for the "Full Body Scan" at security airport. The images were all recorded during the same flight.

Site http://www.evalhoest.com/

capture d’écran 2018-04-13 à 132859.jpg

=Mathieu Zurstrassen - Rhizome=

Rhizome is intimate installation which addresses the theme of transmission of events, forgetfulness and the contemporary ways to transmit and engrave a moment.

It consist of a cabinet topped with a 8mm projector, as the visitors surround the installation, sensors analyze their gestures and their movements, when they detect that a picture or a movie is being recorded with a smartphone, an abrasive mechanism is activated and the physical support of the imagery starts to slowly being deteriorated.  

The information of the moment are transferred to the digital memory of the viewer’s recording tool, which in turn can be used for a new narration or for the sharing on social networks in order to make this memory remain in an actualized form.

Website: http://mathieuzurstrassen.com/

Rhizome Capture.jpg

=Stéphanie Roland - Dead star funeral, 2018=

Every hour, a dead star indexed by spatial institutions is negative printed on a paper sheet, thanks to a printer connected to their databases. Then the museum staff drop off the sheet in a water tray, the paper expands, just as the universe, its shape changes few times until its complete dissolution in water. This process is then broadcasted in loop on a video screen.

This protocole, reflecting on digital labor, is inspired by the industry production flow but the aim here is not anymore the production of new objects but their disappearance, in a vacuum factory. The death of a star, very long phenomenon on an astronomic scale, is here transposed to a human experience, within the reach of visitors.

https://www.stephanieroland.be


PROFESSIONAL MEET-UP (in French) on Thursday 23 May 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm

The Wallonia-Brussels federation (digital arts), KIKK festival and Halles de Schaerbeek invite you to an afternoon of artists’ presentations who will explain their artistic practice to culture professionals and curators: 

Laura Colmenares Guerra,

Carole Louis

Félix Luque Sanchez

Lucille Calmel

Fabrice Sabatier

Claire Williams

Yoan RobinPierre Jean Giloux

Stéphanie Laforce

Eric Arnal Burtschy

Christophe Monchalin 

and Jacques André.



An event supported by :

FWBCOUL_CULT.jpg
 

Organized by :

Back to All Events

C A P T U R E - exhibition by KIKK festival -


  • Halles de Schaerbeek Rue Royale-Sainte-Marie 22, 1030 Région de Bruxelles-Capitale Afficher la carte Bruxelles Belgique (map)

Le KIKK vous invite à découvrir une exposition de 7 artistes soutenus par le KIKK festival : Alain Wergifosse, Superbe, Stéphanie Roland, Eva L'Hoest, Mathieu Zurstrassen dont 3 artistes en collaboration avec Juliette Bibasse, commissaire invitée : Joanie Lemercier, Marie-Ghislaine Losseau & Yann Deval.

L’exposition rassemble des projets récents de ces artistes qui créent un univers onirique, parfois fantomatique ou même introspectif en capturant le monde à travers un filtre technologique.

FINISSAGE - jeudi 23 mai de 18h30 à 21h

Networking et finissage de l’exposition.

Commissaire générale: Marie du Chastel
Organisé par: KIKK festival


Présentation des artistes de l’exposition:



=Superbe - SMing, 2018=

SMing est une installation interactive de chorale offrant aux visiteurs la possibilité d'être à la fois chef d'orchestre et chœur entier. La voix (son et vidéo) est enregistrée, analysée et modifiée par logiciel pour composer un chœur complet, de baryton à soprano. La personne peut ensuite diriger l'orchestre grâce à une baguette connectée. Elle prend le contrôle du rythme et de l'intensité du chœur et donne à la musique une intimité personnelle. La musique produite est déterminée par les mouvements et le ton de la voix enregistrée et est inspirée par les suites d'accords de grands compositeurs.

Pouvons-nous sans fin nous échantillonner et réinventer les profils de nos vies? Réinterpréter une oeuvre tout en étant la matière et le pilote, le sujet et l’objet? Etre un autre pour soi-même est fondamental et indispensable à l’avènement de notre condition de sujet créateur. Cette dissociation est une condition préalable à notre désir, moteur de notre potentiel créatif.

Le titre de l'oeuvre évoque ce principe actif/passif par les deux majuscules S (position sadique) et M (position masochiste) associées au signifiant "sing". Chanter et faire chanter, se faire chanter.

Dans ce projet, l'individu - l'indivisé - se confronte à sa dimension fragmentaire (multiplié, divisé). La musique est certainement ce qui nous lie le plus intimement à la nature, et à sa fonction créatrice.

Site web: http://superbe.be/



=Alain Wergifosse - Erosions & Microscopies, 2018=


Avec ses dispositifs vidéo, Alain Wergifosse explore les limites du visible et de l’audible avec onirisme. Plongé dans un environnement immersif, venez explorer au plus près des formes surprenantes et des textures hypnotiques extraites du côté caché de la nature, réelle ou inventée, excitant l'imaginaire, au travers des microscopies vidéos au ralenti produites par le KIKK.

Site web: http://www.alainwergifosse.com/

181104_017_simon.fusillier (1).jpg

=Joanie Lemercier - Brume, 2017=

Brume est une série d'œuvres et d'installations utilisant un dispositif composé d'eau pulvérisée. Joanie Lemercier libère son travail des dispositifs physiques habituels, tels que les écrans. Il utilise l’espace et l’immatérialité comme une toile, créant un sentiment de projection flottant dans les airs.

Grâce à cet outil volumétrique, il modifie notre relation frontale avec l'écran et permet une nouvelle interaction entre le spectateur et l'image projetée.

Joanie Lemercier continue d’explorer les possibilités de ce nouveau média avec une série d’expériences questionnant notre vision de la réalité.

Dans son travail, Joanie étudie des sujets intemporels tels que la lumière, la matière, la géométrie. Avec Brume, il s'intéresse également au lien entre l'eau et la lumière.

https://joanielemercier.com


=Marie-Ghislaine Losseau & Yann Deval - ATLAS=

ATLAS est une œuvre entre arts numériques et arts plastiques, sous la forme d'une exposition de maquettes de villes imaginaires et d'expériences de AR/VR. Les spectateurs sont invités à construire leurs villes imaginaires à l'aide d'un lance-graines... Chaque lancé va faire pousser une maison autour de lui. Les maisons poussent en suivant certaines règles urbanistiques, en s'adaptant à leur environnement. Les cités poursuivent leur propre vie, avec ou sans les interactions de l'utilisateur, comme des organismes vivants...

Site web: http://www.atlas-experience.xyz


=Eva L'Hoest - Under Automata, 2017=

Les images sont des images 3D de passagers endormis enregistrées lors d’un vol au-dessus de l’océan Atlantique. La caméra est à l’origine une caméra à capteur qui provient de l’industrie du jeu vidéo. C’est un appareil de capture de mouvement qui permet au joueur d’interagir directement dans la simulation sans utiliser de contrôleur. Cet outil est spécialement conçu pour enregistrer le corps humain et est également une technologie utilisée comme outil biométrique, par exemple pour le «Full Body Scan» à l’aéroport de sécurité. Les images ont toutes été enregistrées pendant le même vol.


Site http://www.evalhoest.com/

capture d’écran 2018-04-13 à 132859.jpg

=Mathieu Zurstrassen - Rhizome=

LRhizome est une installation intime abordant le thème de la transmission d'évènements, de l'oubli et des moyens contemporains de transmettre et de graver un moment.

Il s'agit d'une commode surmontée d'un projecteur 8 mm. Au fur et à mesure que les visiteurs entourent l'installation, des capteurs analysent leurs gestes et leurs mouvements. Lorsqu'ils détectent qu'une image ou un film est en cours d'enregistrement via un smartphone, un mécanisme abrasif est activé et le support physique des images commence lentement à se détériorer.Les informations du moment sont transférées dans la mémoire numérique de l’outil d’enregistrement, ces nouvelles données peuvent à leur tour être utilisées pour une nouvelle narration ou pour le partage sur les réseaux sociaux afin de faire en sorte que cette mémoire persiste sous une forme actualisée.

Rhizome Capture.jpg

=Stéphanie Roland - Dead star funeral, 2018=

Chaque heure, une étoile morte répertoriée par les institutions spatiales est imprimée en négatif sur une feuille de papier, grâce à une imprimante connectée à leurs bases de données. Ensuite, le personnel du musée dépose la feuille dans un bac à eau, le papier se dilate, tout comme l'univers, sa forme change jusqu'à sa dissolution complète dans l'eau. Ce processus est ensuite diffusé en boucle sur un écran vidéo.

Ce protocole, proposant une réflexion sur le travail numérique, s’inspire du flux de production de l’ industrie. L’objectif ici n’est plus la production de nouveaux objets mais leur disparition. La mort d'une étoile, phénomène très long à l'échelle astronomique, est ici transposée à une expérience humaine, à la portée des visiteurs.

https://www.stephanieroland.be




RENCONTRE PRO: jeudi 23 mai de 14h à 18h

La fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (arts numériques), le KIKK festival et les Halles de Schaerbeek vous invitent à une présentations d’artistes qui présenteront leur démarche artistique aux opérateurs culturels: 

Laura Colmenares Guerra,

Carole Louis

Félix Luque Sanchez

Lucille Calmel

Fabrice Sabatier

Claire Williams

Yoan Robin

Pierre Jean Giloux

Stéphanie Laforce,

Eric Arnal Burtschy

Christophe Monchalin 

et Jacques André.


Un évènement soutenu par :

FWBCOUL_CULT.jpg
 

Organisé par :

kikk_festival.png